What is your operating cadence?

How to create meeting rigor with sales

How often are you meeting with your sales teams?

Is it once per week? Month? Quarter? NEVER?!

Sales and marketing alignment always comes up as a top struggle for GTM teams. For me, that’s honestly never been the case.

Yes, that’s a bit of a humble brag, but it’s true. Because I’m intentional about creating meaningful relationships with our sales teams, and an operating cadence.

We know about that first part, relationships, but what is an operating cadence?

For any cross-functional relationship, especially with sales, to be successful, you have to be in lock-step with one another and meet consistently.

So, over my time in working with sales I always schedule very specific meetings with my sales counterparts. They are a combination of weekly, bi-weekly and monthly meetings that are 1:1’s and with specific teams.

And these aren’t just random meetings. Every one I try to have a purpose or an agenda to accomplish. New program launches, progress on current programs, critical feedback and more.

Below is an image of how I’ve done this in the past.

Has it gotten to a point where sales can be annoyed with my meeting requests? Maybe, but they still love me. I think.

But this type of operating cadence has helped me continuously build great relationships sales, gather critical feedback for improvement, but most importantly, drive ongoing success.

The question now is, what is your operating cadence with sales?

LinkedIn Post of the Week!

How can I help your ABM strategy?

  1. Account selection consultation: need help figuring out which accounts to choose for your ABM strategy? How many to select?

  2. Channel selection and setup consultation: Need help selecting which channels to use for your strategy? Or how to set them up for personalization and targeting?

  3. ABM Platform Management: With experience using platforms such as Terminus (user and employee), 6sense and RollWorks, I can provide your team tips, and best practices to help unlock the platform’s full potential.

Consultation sessions are 30 minutes long on Friday’s. Please fill out the form below and I will be in touch shortly!